Product News by Forms + Surfaces, Victor Stanley, ANOVA, and Topos

Product News by Forms + Surfaces, Victor Stanley, ANOVA, and Topos


ASLA Announces 2013 Honors

Byrd earns the ASLA Medal, Reed Hilderbrand wins the Firm Award.

The American Society of Landscape Architectshas announced the recipients of the Society’s 2013 Honors. Selected by ASLA’s Board of Trustees, the Honors represent the highest awards ASLA presents each year. The awards will be presented at the President’s Dinner on November 18 at the 2013 ASLA Annual Meeting & EXPO in Boston.

ASLA Medal: Warren T. Byrd Jr., FASLA

Warren T. Byrd Jr., FASLA, will receive the ASLA Medal, the Society’s highest award for a landscape architect. Byrd taught full-time for 26 years at the University of Virginia, serving seven years as chair of the landscape architecture department. At the same time, he also built and maintained a thriving practice—Nelson Byrd Woltz Landscape Architects in Charlottesville, Virginia—that has won more than 70 national and regional awards for its work to date. Byrd has been active in ASLA at the chapter and national levels since 1987, most notably in the areas of the awards program and the annual meeting education programming. View nominating and supporting materials

ASLA Design Medal: Stuart O. Dawson, FASLA

Stuart O. Dawson, FASLA, will receive the ASLA Design Medal in recognition of exceptional design work over a sustained period of at least 10 years. Dawson is a founding principal at Sasaki in Watertown, Massachusetts, where he has practiced for more than 50 years. He received the ASLA Medal in 1999. In addition to serving as a managing principal of the firm, Dawson was involved in a number of award-winning projects, including the John Deere Headquarters in Moline, Illinois; the Christian Science Plaza in Boston; Charleston Waterfront Park, which won the 2007 Landmark Award; and the Indianapolis riverfront. View nominating and supporting materials.

Jot D. Carpenter Teaching Medal: Max Z. Conrad, FASLA

Max Z. Conrad, FASLA, will receive the Jot D. Carpenter Teaching Medal. The award recognizes significant and sustained excellence in landscape architecture education. During his 40-year teaching career, Conrad, a professor at Louisiana State University’s Robert Reich School of Landscape Architecture, has taught thousands of students who are now practicing landscape architects. His leadership of his school’s student travel program has allowed students to experience other ideas, places, and cultures. View nominating and supporting materials.

LaGasse Medal—Landscape Architect: Stuart Weinreb

Stuart Weinreb will receive the LaGasse Medal for contributions to the management and conservation of natural resources and public landscapes. As the director of Capital Assets and Planning for the Massachusetts Audubon Society, Weinreb has applied his landscape architecture skills to protect, enhance, and manage natural and cultural resources for public benefit and enjoyment. He also served the Massachusetts state parks system in his previous position with the Department of Environmental Management, now called the Department of Conservation and Recreation. View nominating and supporting materials.

LaGasse Medal—Non-Landscape Architect: Katherine F. Abbott

Katherine F. Abbott will receive the LaGasse Medal for contributions to the management and conservation of natural resources and public landscapes. Abbott, the executive director of Tower Hill Botanic Garden in Boylston, Massachusetts, is a lifelong advocate for public funding for programs supporting historic landscape preservation. She was instrumental in creating the first statewide land acquisition plan for Massachusetts. Abbott also served as the first president of the Boston Harbor Island Alliance and the first commissioner of the Massachusetts Department of Conservation and Recreation.
View nominating and supporting materials.

Olmsted Medal: Renata von Tscharner

Renata von Tscharner will receive the Olmsted Medal. The award recognizes individuals, organizations, agencies, or programs outside the profession of landscape architecture for environmental leadership, vision, and stewardship. For more than 30 years, von Tscharner, the founder of the Charles River Conservancy, has championed the conservation of Boston’s riverfront. Used by millions of residents each year, the 19 miles of shoreline include 500 acres and serve as host to many of Boston’s best-known civic events. View nominating and supporting materials.

Medal of Excellence: Shlomo Aronson

Shlomo Aronson will receive the Landscape Architecture Medal of Excellence. The award recognizes significant contributions to landscape architecture policy, research, education, project planning and design, or a combination of these items. During his 50-year career, Aronson, considered the “Olmsted of Israel,” has shaped landscapes throughout this relatively new country. His design legacy displays his leadership in sensitivity to both environmental and cultural concerns and has earned the admiration of his peers worldwide. View nominating and supporting materials.

The Landscape Architecture Firm Award: Reed Hilderbrand

Reed Hilderbrand of Watertown, Massachusetts, will receive the Landscape Architecture Firm Award, the highest award ASLA may bestow upon a landscape architecture firm in recognition of distinguished work that influences the profession. Since 1997, the collaborative work of Douglas Reed, FASLA, and Gary Hilderbrand, FASLA, has been recognized for its design, craftsmanship, and extraordinary use of plants. The firm’s work is wide-ranging, from residential and parks projects to cultural and academic institutions, and has garnered 12 national ASLA awards just in the past decade. View nominating and supporting materials.

Community Service Award: Nicholas T. Dines, FASLA

Nicholas T. Dines, FASLA, will receive the Community Service Award for providing sustained, pro bono service demonstrating the sound principles or values of landscape architecture. Dines, a member of the ASLA Council of Fellows from Williamsburg, Massachusetts, has worked as a volunteer to transform physical spaces as well as bring a new awareness of the benefits and potential of landscape architecture to thousands of people. His volunteer efforts have revitalized the Williamsburg town center. Dines also cofounded the Mill River Greenway Initiative, leading to a new system of trails and parks to serve his community. View nominating and supporting materials.

Leave a Comment

Home | Contact Us | Copyright ASLA 2018