ASLA 2011 Awards Call for Entries Released

Juries named for Professional and Student Awards programs


The American Society of Landscape Architects (ASLA) has released its 2011 awards call for entries for professionals and students. Winners receive featured coverage in the October issue of Landscape Architecture magazine, and award recipients, their clients and student advisers will be honored at the awards presentation ceremony during the ASLA Annual Meeting and EXPO in San Diego, October 30 - November 2, 2011. The award winning projects will be featured in a video presentation at the ceremony and on the awards website following the event.

The prestige of the ASLA awards program relies on the high-caliber juries that are convened each year to review submissions. Members of the professional awards jury are:

  • David Yocca, FASLA, Jury Chair, Conservation Design Forum, Elmhurst, Ill.
  • Robert Campbell, FAIA, The Boston Globe
  • Mark Hough, ASLA, Duke University, Durham, N.C.
  • Ilze Jones, FASLA, Jones & Jones Architects and Landscape Architects, Ltd, Seattle
  • Elizabeth Meyer, FASLA, University of Virginia, Charlottesville, Va.
  • Laurie Olin, FASLA, OLIN, Philadelphia
  • Pamela Palmer, ASLA, ARTECHO, Venice, Calif.
  • Christine Ten Eyck, FASLA, Ten Eyck Landscape Architects, Phoenix
  • Alex Washburn, AIA, Chief Urban Designer, New York City Department of City Planning
  • William H. Tishler, FASLA, representing the National Trust for Historic Preservation, will join the jury for selection of The Landmark Award.

Members of the student awards jury convening in June 2011 includes:

  • Mario Nievera, ASLA, Jury Chair, Mario Nievera Design, Palm Beach, Fla., and New York City
  • Thomas Balsley, FASLA, Thomas Balsley Associates, New York City
  • Gary A. Brown, FASLA, University of Wisconsin—Madison
  • James Burnett, FASLA, The Office of James Burnett, Houston
  • Shane Coen, ASLA, Coen+Partners, Minneapolis
  • Diane Dale, FASLA, William McDonough + Partners, Charlottesville, Va.
  • M. Elen Deming, ASLA, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
  • John King, Hon. ASLA, San Francisco Chronicle, San Francisco
  • Karen Phillips, FASLA, New York City Planning Commission

The ASLA awards program features six categories: General Design; Residential Design; Analysis and Planning; Research, co-sponsored by the Council of Educators in Landscape Architecture; Communications; and The Landmark Award, co-sponsored by the National Trust for Historic Preservation. The student awards program also features the Student Community Service Award and Student Collaboration categories. 

Entry forms and payment must be received by:

• Friday, February 25, 2011, for Professional Awards
• Friday, May 6, 2011, for Student Awards

Submission binders must be received by:

• Friday, March 11, 2011, for Professional Awards
• Friday, May 20, 2011, for Student Awards

In need of inspiration? View the ASLA 2010 Professional and Student award-winning projects.


Karen T. Grajales
Manager, Public Relations 
tel: 1-202-216-2371