Professional Practice

2014 HALS Challenge: Documenting Landscapes of the New Deal

Date: 1/31/2014 - 7/31/2014

Type: Competitions / Awards

Location(s): US

Description:

The Historic American Landscapes Survey (HALS) was created in 2000 to document our country's dynamic landscapes. Much progress has been made in identifying cultural landscapes but more is needed to document these designed and vernacular places.

For the 2014 HALS Challenge, we invite you to document landscapes of the New Deal. People from every state are hereby challenged to complete at least one HALS short format history to document the landscapes created during the Great Depression.

Short format histories should be submitted to HALS at the National Park Service no later than July 31, 2014.

The HALS Short Format History Guidelines, brochure, and digital template may be downloaded from the HALS website. Cash prizes will be awarded to the top three entries, which will be announced at the 2014 ASLA Annual Meeting and EXPO in Denver during the HALS meeting.

For more information, please contact Chris Stevens, ASLA, at (202) 354-2146 or Chris_Stevens@nps.gov.

Contact

JobLink
Carolyn Mitchell
cmitchell@asla.org

Firm Finder                                                      
Maxine Artis
martis@asla.org
           
SITES
Linette Straus                                                                           
lstraus@asla.org

Professional Practice
propractice@asla.org 

Library and Research Services                          
Ian Bucacink
ibucacink@asla.org

RFQs & Opportunities                                      
Terence Poltrack
tpoltrack@asla.org

Historic Landscapes (HALS)                              
Ali Hay
ahay@asla.org

Join

Donate