Landscape Architectural Accreditation Board Report

The Landscape Architectural Accreditation Board met on February 8, 2014.

The LAAB made the following accreditation decisions:

Granted initial accreditation for six years (due to expire on December 31, 2019) to:

Rutgers University – course of study leading to the first professional MLA degree West Virginia University - course of study leading to the first professional MLA degree

Granted initial accreditation for three years (due to expire on December 31, 2016 to:

Boston Architectural College - course of study leading to the first professional MLA degree

Granted accreditation for six years (due to expire on December 31, 2019) to:

Arizona State University – course of study leading to the first professional BSLA degree Boston Architectural College – course of study leading to the first professional BLA degree North Dakota State University – course of study leading to the first professional BLA degree University of Wisconsin – course of study leading to the first professional BSLA degree

Granted accreditation for three years (due to expire on December 31, 2016) to:

University of Florida - course of study leading to the first professional MLA degree

The LAAB thanks the following members of the Roster of Visiting Evaluators (ROVE) who participated as visiting team members (team chairs in bold):

Arizona State University – **Art Rice**, Dr. Chris Silver, and Erin Degutis, ASLA
Boston Architectural College – BLA – **Scott Shannon, ASLA**, Baldev Lamba, ASLA and Rick Ciardella, ASLA
Boston Architectural College – MLA – **Chip Winslow, FASLA**, Dr. Mary Anne Alabanza Akers and Lydia Kimball, ASLA
University of Florida – **Brian Orland, FASLA**, Gaines Hall, and Jennifer Jones, FASLA
North Dakota State University – **Mark Westa, ASLA**, Michael J. Andrejasich, and Travis Brooks, ASLA
Rutgers University – **Ned Crankshaw, ASLA**, Roger Schluntz, and Joe Crystal, FASLA
University of Wisconsin – **Judith Wasserman,** Dr. Vini Nathan, and Ken Fowler, ASLA
West Virginia University – MLA – **Alf Simon,** Dave Walters, ASLA, and Dale Jaeger, FASLA

Karen Hanna-Towne, FASLA is chair of LAAB in 2014. LAAB welcomed Rodney Swink, FASLA as a new practitioner member of the Board, Ken Brooks, FASLA as the new CELA representative and Tom Sherry, ASLA as the new CLARB representative. The Council of Higher Education Accreditation (CHEA) had an observer attend the meeting.

Other items discussion items were the status of the online annual reporting process for accredited programs, implementation of the policy on public information, LAAB's application for renewal of recognition with CHEA and preliminary thoughts on preparing for a review of the accreditation standards.

Currently, LAAB accredits at least one program at 69 institutions in the United States. There are 51 accredited MLA programs and 44 accredited undergraduate programs. In 1990 there were 37 undergraduate programs and 21 MLA programs.

To review LAAB documents, the list of accredited programs or information on how to apply to the Roster of Visiting Evaluators (ROVE – the site visitor selection pool) visit the <u>LAAB website.</u>