Honors & Awards
The ASLA Medal

Purpose: The ASLA Medal is the highest honor the American Society of Landscape Architects (ASLA) may bestow upon a landscape architect whose lifetime achievements and contributions to the profession have had a unique and lasting impact on the welfare of the public and the environment.

Eligibility: The individual must be a landscape architect. Nominations are not limited to members of the ASLA or to citizens of the United States.

Frequency: One medal is awarded annually.

Nomination Process: Nominations may be made by an ASLA professional member or an ASLA chapter. Nominations are to be kept confidential. Nominees should not be made aware of their nominations or asked to participate in the preparation of their nomination materials.  

All nominations must be submitted in a single black 1/2 inch view binder and on a CD-ROM to ASLA by March 6, 2015 5:00 pm EST. Each nomination to include:

  • A letter of nomination describing the nominee's qualifications for the medal; the letter may be no more than five (5) pages in length;
  • Photo of nominee;
  • Up to five (5) letters of endorsement.

Please send nomination packages to:
ASLA Medal Nominations
c/o Carolyn Mitchell
636 Eye Street, NW
Washington, DC 20001-3736

Selection Process: The Executive Committee reviews all nominations and forwards no more than two nominees to the Board of Trustees (BOT) for final selection. The BOT selects the medal recipient by secret ballot during the mid-year meeting (held in the Spring). The medal recipient is notified by the president and invited to attend the ASLA Annual Conference (held in the Fall) where the medal will be awarded.

Questions? Contact Carolyn Mitchell, Honors and Awards Coordinator, 202-216-2331
NOTE: Email subject line must read "ASLA MEDAL."
email cmitchell@asla.org.

Recent Recipients

2003   Richard Haag, FASLA
2002   Morgan "Bill" Evans, FASLA
2001   Robert E. Marvin, FASLA
2000   Carl D. Johnson, FASLA
1999   Stuart O. Dawson, FASLA
1998   Carol R. Johnson, FASLA
1997   Julius G. Fabos, FASLA
1996   John T. Lyle, FASLA
1995   Ervin H. Zube, FASLA
1994   Edward D. Stone Jr., FASLA
1993   Arthur E. Bye Jr., FASLA
1992   Robert S. Reich, FASLA
1991   Meade Palmer, FASLA
1990   Raymond L. Freeman, FASLA
1989   Robert N. Royston, FASLA
1988   Dame Sylvia Crowe
1987   Phillip H. Lewis Jr., FASLA
1986   William J. Johnson, FASLA
1985   Roberto Burle Marx, Hon. ASLA
1984   Ian McHarg, FASLA
1983   Theodore O. Osmundson, FASLA
1982   Charles W. Eliot II, FASLA
1981   Sir Geoffrey Jellicoe
1980   William G. Swain, FASLA
1979   Norman T. Newton
1978   Lawrence B. Halprin, FASLA
1977   Hubert B. Owens, FASLA
1976   Thomas Church, FASLA
1975   Garrett Eckbo, FASLA
1974   Campbell E. Miller, FASLA
1973   John Ormsbee Simonds, FASLA
1972   Conrad R. Wirth, FASLA
1971   Hideo Sasaki, FASLA